1. Home
  2. About
  3. People
  4. Committees
  5. Sustainability Committee

Sustainability Committee

The function of the Sustainability Committee is to engage with WFSA, other societies and peer medical associations around sustainability in anaesthesia. The healthcare industry has a disproportionally large environmental footprint that affects our communities and patients. The operating room is the largest consumer of resource and producer of waste in most hospitals.

Environmental health and sustainability is an issue that currently spans multiple WFSA committees and membership societies. The subject touches upon professionalism, practice management, leadership, ethics, public health, population health, equipment and facilities, medication management and scarcity of resources.

Key committee aims:

  • Educate and promote environmental stewardship best practices, policies, and strategies among the membership of WFSA through the continuum of education and advocacy programs.
  • Assist and guide WFSA leadership and administration on matters of corporate environmental sustainability best practices.
  • Provide feedback via WFSA leadership to governmental and accreditation agencies regarding the environmental and potential population health impacts of regulatory mandates that influence anaesthesia practice.
  • Convene groups for the development of policy statements and the evaluation of potential environmental health impacts of existing WFSA practices, policies, standards, and practice parameters, and provide feedback as appropriate.
  • Evaluate and promote methods to optimize perioperative care and pain management in a changing environment

Committee Members

Jodi ShermanUSA
Deputy Chair
Cliff SheltonUK
Africa and the Middle East
Nathalie MejeniCameroon
Gwen MorganSouth Africa
Xiangdong Chen China
Simantika Ghosh India
Pui San LohMalaysia
Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands
Forbes McGainAustralia
Central and South America, Mexico and the Caribbean Islands
Christian Nilo SchultzChile
Claudia Marquez SimõesBrazil
Salome MeyerSwitzerland
Jane MuretFrance
North America
Seema GandhiUSA
Vivian Hy IpCanada
Craig D. McClain USA