1. Home
  2. News
  3. Dr Wayne Morriss Assumes WFSA Presidency

Dr Wayne Morriss Assumes WFSA Presidency

On 1 July, Dr Morriss started his two-year term as WFSA President – the first New Zealander to hold the position.

On 1 July, Assoc Prof Wayne Morriss succeeded Prof Adrian Gelb as the WFSA’s 19th President. He will hold the presidency until the World Congress of Anaesthesiologists in Singapore in March 2024. In line with the WFSA’s constitution, Prof Gelb will continue to sit on the WFSA Board as the Immediate Past President.

Dr Wayne Morriss is a practising anaesthesiologist in Christchurch, New Zealand, with extensive experience in medical education, neuroanaesthesia, and obstetric anaesthesia. He trained in New Zealand and Australia and worked in Fiji for two years before settling in Christchurch.

Wayne has a long history with the WFSA and has been a member of the WFSA Board since 2012. He was Chair of the Education Committee from 2012-2016 and Director of Programmes from 2016-2020.

Dr Morriss is the co-developer of the Essential Pain Management programme which has now been taught in over 60 countries worldwide. He has also been closely involved with the development and delivery of other educational projects, including Primary Trauma CareSafer Anaesthesia From Education (SAFE), and the WFSA Fellowship Programme.