1. Home
  2. Opportunities
  3. Anaesthesia Innovation Awards

WFSA Fresenius Kabi Anaesthesia Innovation Awards – Application deadline extended to 2nd October 2022.

Due to a high level of demand, the application deadline for the Anaesthesia Innovation Awards applications has been extended to Sunday 2nd October.

The WFSA Fresenius Kabi Anaesthesia Innovation Awards identifies and supports the development of innovations that have the potential to transform the field of anaesthesia and improve patient safety worldwide.

We are extremely grateful to Fresenius Kabi for their continued support.

The award package:

  • Three prizes will be awarded: US$ 20,000; US$25,000; and US$ 30,000.
  • Additional funding for mentoring and consultancy to support the development of innovations.
  • Platform to showcase innovations at the World Congress of Anaesthesiologists 2024 in Singapore.
  • US$6,000 to develop a promotional film.

For this second round of awards, we will prioritise innovations in the following areas:

a) Environmental / Eco friendly anaesthesia – innovations that promote the WFSA Consensus principles of environmentally sustainable anaesthesia.

b) Safer Medication Management – Innovations that improve the efficiency and safety of medication management. Caregivers worldwide need to ensure the safe and patient-centred administration of medicine whilst relieving the burden of work that this can create. 

c) Clinical Nutrition in the perioperative setting – Innovations that focus on promoting and ensuring optimal nutrition to improve safety and outcomes for surgical & critically ill patients. As perioperative physicians and intensivists, anaesthesiologists are well placed to influence this essential area of patient safety.

Application procedure

Previous Award winners 

2019- Screenless Anaesthesia Monitor (SAM) by Dr Paul Barton

2018 – RevoCap: A revolution in Global Capnography by Maziar Mohsen Nourian and Michael Lipnick 

2017– SmartBlade: Video laryngoscope by Caroline Corbett and Nick Nevin