1. Home
  2. Member Focus
  3. Societies
  4. Rwanda


The Rwanda Society of Anaesthesiologists held their 1st Annual Scientific Conference and General Assembly in July in Kigali. The main theme of the event was ‘Outcomes in anaesthesia and maternal & newborn safety in anaesthesia’. The event also focused on topics such as, Peri-operative pain management, Emergency obstetric anaesthesia and resuscitation management of the new-born, Lifebox and the safe surgical checklist, Critical care and Endocrine diseases & anaesthesia.

Training in the SAFE Obstetric Anaesthesia Course took place in Kigali City and surrounding district hospitals in April and for North Province district hospitals, at Musanze in March 2015.

The SAFE Obstetric Anaesthesia Course is a three-day course designed to equip anaesthesia providers and other members of the operating room team with a systematic approach to routine, urgent and emergency obstetrical anaesthesia, including resuscitation of the pregnant patient. A particular focus is put on communication and teamwork in the operating room.

The society also held a BLS course in summer 2014 for five district hospitals that are being upgraded to provincial or referral hospital levels. During this course, a total number of 195 healthcare providers were certified by the RSA as BLS providers in these five hospitals.

The awarded certificate is valid for one year and has to be renewed by further trainings in BLS by a certified body.

BLS/ACLS training and a ToT in ACLS were also organised in May 2015.

Member Information

Rwanda Society of Anesthesiologists
Gasabo – Kigali

Phone: +250 785743379/ +250 788862356

President: Dr BANGUTI RUHATO Paulin
Secretary: Dr BUREGEYA Egide
Treasurer: Dr NZARORA Josue

Members: 30
Year Joined: 2008
Region: ARS

Anaesthesia Workforce Data

  • PAP Density: 0.27
  • Population: 11,610,000
  • Physicians: 568
  • Physician anaesthesia providers: 31
  • Surgeons: 61
  • Nurse anaesthesia providers: 445
  • Other anaesthesia providers: 9
  • No. of physician providers that have an anaesthetic qualification: 14
  • Minimum duration of training (years) for physician anaesthesia providers: 4
  • Typical duration of training (years) for nurse anaesthesia providers: 9
  • Typical duration of training (years) for non physician / non-nurse anaesthesia providers: 0