1. Home
  2. Member Focus
  3. Societies
  4. North Macedonia

North Macedonia

We are proud to mention that back in the Spring 2017 our country and Society received a donation of portable pulse oxymetry monitors as a collaboration of MSA with Lifebox and Masimo Ltd. Our Society divided the monitors to hospitals around the country, for the provision of better and safer medical care of the patients.

We organised a CME event and workshop in collaboration with Masimo and Lifebox in order to promote the use of the pulsoximeters and most of the members of the society participated. In 2017 we organised another CME event in collaboration with Masimo Ltd. dedicated to the safe use of portable defibrillators. Also, the collaboration with Masimo has continued in 2018, so a CPR workshop and CME event was organised and held in 2018. Our Society organised anular CME events in 2017 together with the Association of Gynecologists and Obstetricians on the theme “Management of Peripartal Hemorrhage” and in 2018 in collaboration with the Society of Plastic Surgeons on the theme “Usage of Canabinoids in treatment of chronic pain in a patients with malignancies”.

Also this year our Society participated in organizing the First American-Macedonian Symposium in Obstetric Anesthesia and Patient safety.
In December 2017 our Society had an annual conference where all the members voted in order to elect a President. This is done every four years. Prof. Dr Andrijan Kartalov was re-elected as President of our Society.

Member Information

Macedonia Society of Anaesthesiologists
Macedonian Doctors Society, Dame Gruev No. 3
1000 Skopje

Phone: +3897 6 606 803
Fax: +3892 130234

President: Andrijan Kartalov PhD.
Treasurer: Dr Aleksandar Dimitrovski

Members: 206
Preferred Language: English
Year Joined: 1996
Region: ESA

Anaesthesia Workforce Data

  • PAP Density: 9.91
  • Population: 2,078,000
  • Physicians: 5,364
  • Physician anaesthesia providers: 206
  • Surgeons: 763
  • Nurse anaesthesia providers: No data
  • Other anaesthesia providers: 0
  • No. of physician providers that have an anaesthetic qualification: 150
  • Minimum duration of training (years) for physician anaesthesia providers: 5
  • Typical duration of training (years) for nurse anaesthesia providers: 0
  • Typical duration of training (years) for non physician / non-nurse anaesthesia providers: 0