1. Home
  2. About
  3. People
  4. Committees
  5. Ad-Hoc Sustainability Committee

Ad-Hoc Sustainability Committee

The function of the Ad Hoc Sustainability Committee is to engage with the WFSA, other societies and peer medical associations on sustainability in anaesthesia

The healthcare industry has a disproportionally large environmental footprint that affects our communities and patients. The operating room is the largest consumer of resource and producer of waste in most hospitals.

Environmental health and sustainability is an issue that currently spans multiple WFSA committees and membership societies. The subject touches upon professionalism, practice management, leadership, ethics, public health, population health, equipment and facilities, medication management and scarcity of resources.

Key committee aims:

  • Educate and promote environmental stewardship best practices, policies, and strategies among the membership of WFSA through the continuum of education and advocacy programs.
  • Assist and guide WFSA leadership and administration on matters of corporate environmental sustainability best practices.
  • Provide feedback via WFSA leadership to governmental and accreditation agencies regarding the environmental and potential population health impacts of regulatory mandates that influence anesthesia practice.
  • Convene groups for the development of policy statements and the evaluation of potential environmental health impacts of existing WFSA practices, policies, standards, and practice parameters, and provide feedback as appropriate.
  • Evaluate and promote methods to optimize perioperative care and pain management in a changing environment

Committee Members

Professor Jodi ShermanUSA
Deputy Chair
Professor Adrian GelbUSA
Africa and the Middle East
Dr Nathalie MejeniCameroon
Dr Zane FarinaSouth Africa
Dr Edwin LugaziaTanzania
Dr Pui San LohMalaysia
Australia, New Zealand and Pacific
Dr Forbes McGainAustralia
Central and South America, Mexico and the Caribbean Islands
Dr Airton BagatiniBrazil
Dr Claudia Simões Brazil
Dr Christian Nilo SchultzChile
Dr Kenneth BarkerUnited Kingdom
Dr Gordana JovanovicSerbia
Dr Salome MeyerSwitzerland
Dr Jane MuretFrance
Dr Cliff SheltonUnited Kingdom
North America
Dr Vivian Hy IpCanada
Dr Seema GandhiUSA